SFI External Professors Aaron Clauset and Tina Eliassi-Rad, 2023 Network Science Society Fellows. (images: CU Boulder and Khoury College of Computer Sciences, Northeastern University)

The Network Science Society announced SFI External Professors Aaron Clauset (CU Boulder) and Tina Eliassi-Rad (Northeastern University) as two of their new Fellows on July 14 at a ceremony held in Vienna, Austria, as part of the International Conference on Network Science. Clauset and Eliassi-Rad join five other 2023 Fellows. 

Clauset received the fellowship in recognition of his achievements in network science, encompassing tasks such as community identification, development of algorithms to analyze network structures and applications within the realms of social and biological contexts. Eliassi-Rad’s fellowship award acknowledges her groundbreaking research bridging network science, machine learning, and data mining, which encompasses significant contributions such as role identification in network data, systematic measurement of tie-strength, and the quantification of network similarity. 

Each year, The Network Science Society names as Fellows seven members of the community based on exceptional life-long contributions in any area of network science research and to the network science community, locally or globally. The Network Science Society represents and acts as an interdisciplinary body gathering a wide variety of researchers and scholars that have interests in network science. Sciences can range from computer science and artificial intelligence to subjects like physics, biology, and economics. 

During the same ceremony, former Omidyar Fellow Daniel Larremore (CU Boulder) also received the Erdős-Rényi Prize. External Professors Clauset, Sonia Kéfi (CNRS) and Dani Bassett (University of Pennsylvania) have also received this award.