Drew Nucci with students

SFI and the Santa Fe Alliance for Science have awarded 13 graduating seniors and one science teacher from Santa Fe with the 2014 Prize for Scientific Excellence. The awardees were honored during a ceremony at the Institute on April 29.

The winning students are selected by their teachers for academic excellence, originality, and creativity in science, mathematics, or computer science. The prize includes a cash award, a certificate of recognition, and a copy of Complexity: A Guided Tour by SFI External Professor Melanie Mitchell

Behind every great student are teachers who have inspired them, says SFI VP for Education and Outreach Ginger Richardson. The Prize for Outstanding Teaching recognizes one Santa Fe science teacher who demonstrates special achievement in advancing science education, as recognized by the educational community. The prize includes a cash award and a certificate of recognition. 

This year’s teaching prize goes to Drew Nucci of Santa Fe Preparatory School. According to a Santa Fe Prep news release, Nucci "has inspired countless 7th and 8th grade math students at Santa Fe Prep. He is dedicated to reaching each and every one of his students as he encourages them to approach problems fearlessly and creatively. Drew is not afraid to accept challenges and, his willingness to take risks in the academic arena sets a great example for his kids. They feel safe and empowered to explore their problem solving skills and to be comfortable making mistakes."

In addition to teaching, Nucci runs Santa Fe Prep's MathCounts program and is the Director of the EE Ford Summer Teachers' Colloquium, a professional development program that draws teachers from around the country.

The student recipients of the 2014 High School Prize for Scientific Excellence are:

  • Austin Tyra, Academy @ Larragoite
  • Chris Brown The MASTERS Program
  • Elijah Andes, Santa Fe Waldorf High School
  • Ian McClaugherty, Santa Fe Preparatory School
  • Jasmine Sisneros, New Mexico School for the Deaf
  • Johnny Sanchez, Santa Fe Indian School
  • Katie Wheeler Desert Academy
  • Mohit Dubey, New Mexico School for the Arts
  • Rachel Saladen, St. Michael's High School
  • Rosemary E. Elliott-Smith, Monte del Sol Charter School
  • Sabrina Narvaiz, Capital High School
  • Takeshi Kobayashi The Academy for Technology and the Classics
  • Tiyaporn Tangpradubkul, Santa Fe High School

SFI and the Santa Fe Alliance for Science have cosponsored the annual prize since 2008. More about the prize.

More SFI News